2015-16 Basketball Highlights

  • The St. Francis basketball team’s postseason run ended with a loss in the CIF Division I State Championship but not before posting a set of accomplishments that will be remembered forever in the school’s history books.
  • St. Francis lost 64-51 to Brea Olinda in their quest for the second state championship in school history. The Troubadours had not reached the state final since the school won the Division III title in 1993, bringing back memories from alumnae and fans alike. Several members of the 1993 attended the state final at Sleep Train Arena.
  • St. Francis won the CIF NorCal Division I Championship Saturday with a 66-52 come-from-behind victory over Castro Valley. 
  • Francis was the No. 1 seed in the NorCal Regional and posted wins over Lincoln of San Francisco (81-36), Menlo-Atherton (74-51) and Castro Valley (66-52) to reach the championship game. The Troubadours were the No. 2 seed in the Sac-Joaquin Section playoffs, posting wins over Woodcreek (81-39) and Lincoln of Stockton (67-62) to qualify for the NorCals. They defeated Oak Ridge at the Spanos Center in Stockton in the semifinals (88-61) and lost to No. 1 seed St. Mary’s (94-58) in the section finals.
  • Head Coach Vic Pitton was named the Sacramento Bee Girls Coach of the Year and senior Lauren Craig was selected to the All-Metro first-team, one of four Troubadour players named to the All-Metro team.
  • St. Francis won the Delta League Championship with a perfect 14-0 record including two wins over Division II finalist Elk Grove. It is the first league title since 2011 and 13th in school history. Vic Pitton was the named the Delta League Coach of the Year and Lauren Craig was named the Player of the Year. Senior Kyra Huffman and junior Janae Fairbrook joined Craig on the All-Delta League First Team. St. Francis was represented by five players on the second team, including Marlee Nicolos, Jackie Koerwitz, Angie Ortiz, Aliyah Williams and Julia Razo.
  • St. Francis senior Lauren Craig was among the six athletes featured in the Faces in the Crowd segment of this week’s edition of Sports Illustrated. TNT Sideline reporter Craig Sager is on the cover of the May 2, 2016 edition.
  • Three players committed to play basketball in college: Craig (Pepperdine), Tia Hay (Colorado State) and Huffman (Knox College).

Individual Honors

Prep2Preps All-State

  • Lauren Craig (Nominee)
  • Tia Hay (Nominee)


  • Lauren Craig (All-Nor Cal Second Team)

Sacramento Bee All-Metro

  • Lauren Craig (First Team)
  • Kyra Huffman (Honorable Mention)
  • Janae Fairbrook (Honorable Mention)
  • Tia Hay (Honorable Mention)

All-Delta League

  • Lauren Craig (Player of the Year, First Team)
  • Kyra Huffman (First Team)
  • Janae Fairbrook (First Team)
  • Marlee Nicolos (Second Team)
  • Jackie Koerwitz (Second Team)
  • Angie Oritz (Second Team)
  • Aliyah Willaims (Second Team)
  • Julia Razo (Second Team)
  • Vic Pitton (Coach of the Year)

Optimist Game

  • Lauren Craig (South Team)
  • Tia Hay (South Team)

CIF State Championships – Pursuing Victory with Honor 

  • Janae Fairbrook

NorCal Championships – Pursuing Victory with Honor 

  • Tia Hay

Sac-Joaquin Section Championships – Pursuing Victory with Honor 

  • Janae Fairbrook

Sports Illustrated Faces in the Crowd

  • Lauren Craig (May 2, 2016)

Varsity Basketball Awards

  • Comeback Player of the Year - Kyra Huffman
  • Most Improved Player - Aliyah Williams
  • Record 3-Point Shooter - Janae Fairbrook
  • Most Inspirational Player - Tia Hay
  • Rookie of the Year - Jackie Koerwitz
  • Competitor of the Year - Marlee Nicolos
  • Violinist of the Year - Rica Baccay
  • Coaches’ Award - Angie Ortiz
  • Sixth Man of the Year – Julia Razo

JV Basketball Awards

  • Offensive Player of the Year - Jorie Keitges
  • Defensive Player of the Year – Ally Gage
  • Most Inspirational - Anne McDaniel
  • Coaches’ Award - Morgan Kaeser

Freshman Basketball Awards

  • Coaches’ Award - Gabi Lopez
  • Offensive Player of the Year - Krysta Alvarez
  • Defensive Player of the Year - Lily McLoughlin
  • Assist Leader – Brynne Burrows
  • Top Rebounder - Sydney Galvan