2017 Cross Country Highlights

  • The St. Francis cross country team posted the fifth-best GPA in the Sac-Joaquin Section with a 3.61 cumulative average. The team ranked behind only Oak Ridge (3.84), Oakmont (3.75), Gregori (3.70) and Lodi (3.66).
  • The St. Francis cross country team finished sixth overall in the girls Division II race, recording their sixth consecutive Top 10 state championship finish. The Troubadours finished with 225 points with three runners among the top 35 scoring finishers, placing behind Claremont (69), Saugus (100), Granada (102), Capistrano (123) and Serrano (166).
  • St. Francis won its second consecutive Sac-Joaquin Section title, winning the Division II title. Senior Sydney Vandegrift finished second overall in 18:33 to lead the Troubadours. SF scored 53 points to defeat Vacaville (75) and Rocklin (82) with all three earning berths to the CIF State Championship meet. It is the 11th section title and sixth consecutive state championship berth for St. Francis.
  • The St. Francis Junior Varsity team was fourth overall in the combined Division 1-5 race and the top finisher in out of Division II. The Frosh/Soph team was second overall in the final race for the program on the day. Nicole McBride led the team with a ninth-place finish.
  • St. Francis team placed six runners among the top 10 led by Vandegrift in second and junior Sophie DeBenedetti in fourth to win their first league title since 2013. All six earned all-league honors for their Top 10 finish.
  • Team competed in the Woodbridge Invitational in Irvine for the first time, finishing 13th overall, while the team placed fifth at the Clovis Invitational.
  • Team recorded 20 new marks on the all-time list and recorded three school records.
  • Vandegrift was the top finisher for the team in all 11 races. She had six Top 5 finishers and won the Oakmont Invitational She was second overall at the section meet, second at the Delta League meet and 31st at the state meet. She earned All-Delta League honors.
Individual Honors

All-Delta League

  • Sophie Debenedetti
  • Haley Silva
  • Hannah Hekkanen
  • Emma Hollenbach
  • Alana Reyna
  • Sydney Vandegrift

Delta League Sportsmanship Award

  • Bridget Kemp